DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm familiar with home audio and I've done several diy projects but I've never done anything car related. However I recently purchased a Kia Forte sedan and I'm itching for an audio overhaul. For a stock system in a cheap car it's actually not bad at all but it's still far from what I'm used to in my home systems so I've decided to start putting a system together.

I've decided to try to keep the total system (speakers, amps, wiring, deadening, but no subs at the moment) under 600-700. I'm unfamiliar with car audio brands and was very underwhelmed with the choice of speakers available that seem like they'd perform well and under 250 for a set so I'm thinking about going with a diy route using drivers from Parts Express.

My parts list for drivers for the front so far are:
-2x Dayton Audio RS180-4 for the front midbass
-2x Vifa OX20SC00-04 for tweeters (I have no experience with these but they seem like a solid performer and easy to slip in the stock locations)
-I'm still thinking about crossovers. I don't know how it's usually done in car audio but right now I'm thinking about using a prebuilt dayton crossover at 2khz, for cost and simplicity.

Rears are just going to get a modest upgrade using Dayton Audio RS150 (same speakers as fronts but 6" instead of 7") with no tweeters.

I have no experience at all with amps but I remember reading something about the MB Quart ONX4.125 a few months ago when I was originally thinking about upgrading. It seems like its a solid performer for under $170 but if there's anything better suited for around $200 let me know.