DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I have been a lurker for a while and decided that maybe I should change that and finally do a build.

I am a complete Novice a this. I have done your basic speaker upgrades and stereo install but thats it. I have never taken on something of this size.

Now the back story. I have a pioneer 12 in a cheap particle board enclosure, the box is breaking apart and it looks like someone ran a wood chipper in my trunk. so I figured I would make my own enclosure.

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
good luck to ya (in a good way) you will find it isnt as hard as you think it might be. unless you are going to fiberglass a box that isnt a box shape haha then its trickier. i built my first box a few years ago and still love to do it. just make sure the math is right :)

edit..dont mind me haha i thought it was going to be a starting thing right now..i didnt know you had it done

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
so this was the first attempt. I used a half a 3X3 sheet of fiberglass. and wound up with a lot of air bubbles.:(

so I scrapped that.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I took a break for a few days to rethink the whole thing. I found a tutorial on here, where they mentioned using pam to get the fiber out of the mold. I also read about using a resin that has a longer working time. I couldnt find anything around here that lasted any longer then 15 minutes.

I used 3" X 3" chunks of fiber and also some 3" X 6 " chunks over lapping them about a half inch. I found this worked really good especially with the short working time of the resin.

I still have a lot of tape to clean up and some air pockets on the back, but its not between the between the layers of fiber at least.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·