DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First off, I would like to say thanks to the forum for the heap of info! I have been reading up on here for days looking for good components and amp that meet my budget. As you will see, I'm a big time newb when it comes to car audio! Anyway, here we go..

Equipment:

Cadence CWM6KIT component set

Kicker KX600.4 amp

Pioneer DEH-P6600 HU

Adire Shiva sub

Problem: Just got the components and amp wired up today. I'm using channels 3&4 bridged for the sub, and it sounds great. But when I went to tune my components, I started getting problems. At lower volumes the speakers are making a faint (but clearly audible) hissing/screech sound. When I crank the volume, the midbass sounds like its breaking up, then all of a sudden it makes a very loud constant screeching sound. Also makes a pop when I turned it off.

Unfortunately, the midbass on the right side doesn't seem to be working now :(, as in, it doesn't do anything. No sound at all. I read that a blown speaker will make sound, but sound really bad. Hopefully mine is fixable.

So what the heck is going on? I checked my wiring, all + go to +, and same with -. I did take the HU off to install RCA's for the components, so could I have messed up something then? I switched everything around on the amp to see if the components would work on channel 3&4, but got the same problem.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
12,053 Posts
take the RCAs off the amp and put an mp3/phone on it to see if the amp is causing it or the HU. if the weird noise goes away, you have your answer ;)

·
Registered
7,408 Posts
take the RCAs off the amp and put an mp3/phone on it to see if the amp is causing it or the HU. if the weird noise goes away, you have your answer ;)

This...

I would start by just removing the RCAs..

If the problem goes away, then you know it's forward of the amp... if not, then amp or speakers...