DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I’m pretty new to this stuff and looking for some advice. I have standard 4 speaker, dash(tweeters) and door(2way) setup for my camper (VW Transporter T5 2005). The only upgrade is a Sony XAV-601BT head unit.
I want to change the speakers and add my old sub and 1 amp.
I’m not very experienced though and have a few questions. I will probably go for a plug and play upgrade kit, so I don’t have to go down a loom and adapter rabbit hole. Here are the two kits I’m thinking about:
  • Blam 20cm Plug and Play KIT VW Transporter speaker upgrade
  • Audiofrog G60S Plug and play VW Transporter speaker upgrade

• Here are my questions:

• The ‘Blam’ bundle includes 8” upgrade with collars which apparently still fit behind the door card. As I have no rear speakers getting the most power out of these door speakers makes sense, and so (to me) upgrading to max size is easiest way to do this. Am I wrong? Would the standard 6.5” ‘Audiofrog’ setup just sound a lot better? Or would you just direct me to different bundles over these?
  • It’s meant to be a simple swap over, plug and play. Is this actually nonsense? Should I be changing the speaker wires for an upgrade like this? Any other changes (assuming I want to keep the head unit)?
  • What sort of amp would people suggest for this setup? The sub I have from when I was younger (actually 20 years old) is still working well. It’s a really nice reference class Alpine 12”, boxed with the right dimensions. I’m assuming it would be a 4-channel amp, with two for the L/R and bridging two into the sub? Any recommendations?
  • Is this head unit capable of running the changes above, including the sub and amp? I read the specs but they go down like hot banana… https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/...a-players-xav-series/xav-601bt/specifications