DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can you guys give me some opinion on my proposed starting points for crossing the following speakers in my new 2 way active build?

::speakers::
AF GB15 in sails
SI TM65 MKiii in factory locations (2016 Ford Taurus SHO)
SI RM-12 (sealed in trunk)

My DSP is a JL TWK-D8 feed via Toslink from a PAC AmpPro4

Based upon my research I'm planning to start by crossing at 80hz and 2khz with a -24db slope. I believe that slope is recommended for a few reasons such as being a bit safer and also avoiding some phasing issues at the crossover point...?

Does this seem to make sense for these drivers? I don't have exact dimensions for my sealed enclosure yet....don't think that will matter too much.

·
Registered
824 Posts
I'd say those are good starting points for sure.

Not sure how much level you can get out of the GB15 crossed at 2k as I have no personal experience with that driver.

·
Registered
6,594 Posts
I think you have a good starting point...similar to my set up and i think i have my tweeter at 2400. Lower does not sound better to me.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think you have a good starting point...similar to my set up and i think i have my tweeter at 2400. Lower does not sound better to me.
Did you by chance use a capacitor on your GB15 for protection? If so what size did you go with?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'd say those are good starting points for sure.

Not sure how much level you can get out of the GB15 crossed at 2k as I have no personal experience with that driver.
Thanks. I know this is a played out question most people are sick of hearing but you never know what details a new conversation will yield. At least that's my excuse for asking it ;-)

·
Registered
18,240 Posts
sub up to 65, midbass 80-2k, tweeter from 2k and up. all 24db LR slopes