DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, complete newbie, be gentle !
I'm having a Audison DSP fitted to my car and it has a optical input
I require a DAP or something similar that has optical out connectivity.
I'll be using it with Tidal so need to be able download content for offline use.
Can anyone help, appreciate your advice

·
Registered
2007 Toyota Corolla
11 Posts
Hi, complete newbie, be gentle !
I'm having a Audison DSP fitted to my car and it has a optical input
I require a DAP or something similar that has optical out connectivity.
I'll be using it with Tidal so need to be able download content for offline use.
Can anyone help, appreciate your advice
Hi there! I'm definitely interested in responses to this thread too.

I have an Audison Bit One that I will install into my car. I'm looking for a quality DAP that I can use the digital output to feed the Bit One high quality audio.

So far I'm looking primarily at the IBasso DX160 or Fiio M11 as they seem to have good reviews and be in my budget range at around $400. Some other digital options include Astell and Kerns ak100ii and Cowon plenue R. You can check out some other options at the link below.

Some more digital Daps, posts near the bottom of this thread:

My hope is to find research of what is working for people so I don't run into snags if I go ahead and buy a $400 Dap. I don't want to find out the hard way that it is not compatible for whatever reason.

The other pertinent question is whether to use Coax or Optical SPDIF. I've seen these terms used in confusing ways at times. The link here seems to clarify really well some distinctions.