DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings! Long time reader, first time poster!

The time has come for the next step in my little project. I am currently running a 2 way setup in my silverado (diy peerless) with 225 watts RMS per channel. Ive been running it for a couple months with no sub and I do enjoy it, however I am ready for more, deeper bass from my setup.

Im having a hard time deciding between the high output and high fidelity version of the Dayton Reference 12" sub. I am planning on running two through my HiFonics BX1500D (1000watts RMS).

I cant decide between two sealed HF woofers, or two ported HO woofers. It is a single cab, so I do not have too much room to work with, my last sub was a 12" nakamichi in a ported 2.75" enclosure, and i had no problems making that fit.

Im mostly wondering if there is really that much SQ difference between the HO and HF woofer. This is my daily driver, i dont compete, and I just like good, clean sound. Ive read a couple people say that the HO is the way to go in a car setup due to small enclosure requirements. I am currently leaning that way.

BTW, what size enclosures/ports would you guys reccomend for these subs in a daily driver sq setup? Or is the Dayton sub my best option for the price range? (~$250 that can handel 1000watts rms) :confused:

Any input would be greatly appriciated!

·
Registered
2,298 Posts
Well the HO prefers a ported enclosure. About 2 cubes per sub, tuned to about 26 hz. The HF prefers a LARGE sealed box. Again about 2 cubes per sub. So, either way you're looking at 4 cubes. Ported will obviously be bigger because of port volume.

Also 2 subs will only yield a 2 ohm load. That being said, go with the HF. It'll match up with your amp better.

·
Registered
2,410 Posts
Nice to have you on board. Since you own a Chevy, I have to be a postwhore here and add in a plug for another one of my favorite forums... Fullsizechevy.com