DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone i need some help knowing how much power should be sending these mids and tweets. i know what the manufacturer's say but i know you guys have a better grasp of what these can handle. i'll be getting amps based on the power ratings so don't worry about that aspect. i just need to know their power handling capabilities. after some searching i'm thinking of using a zapco 750.2 (175x2 @ 4ohm) on the 8 ohm dayton mids and a zapco 350.2 (100x2 @ 4ohm) on the 6ohm seas tweets. what do y'all think? since i'm pretty new to actives. thanks guys.

Dave

·
Registered
250 Posts
Who said that? Me thinks it's the other way around. It takes more energy to reproduce lower frequency than higher frequency, unless there is something I'm missing?

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
I have ~150-180w going to each of mine RS180 and i never got to strain them... even playing full range at very loud levels... but i usually high pass them at 40hz 12db/oct

for the tweeters a 25w/ch amp would be more than enough power...

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
cotdt said:
i've heard people say that that tweeter eats up more power than a subwoofer at peak.
wrong info... a tweeter needs very little power even compared to a mid...

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
I'm running RS225's and 27DTFC's right now off a 4 channel Xtant rated 4 x [email protected] (underrated). This is just plenty for the tweets. The mids want a little more then [email protected] - but I am running them down to 33Hz so consider that. When I had them running off the Xtant bridged (200W @4ohms so 100W a piece @8) I was unable to ever get them to distort from lack of power and full volume.

I'd recommend anything on the tweets, and a 2 x [email protected] for the mids.

-aaron

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7