DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so i do everything I can in home audio, and its not too difficult. Like making my own RCAs, speaker cables with cat5 network cables etc.

Now I have been researching of upgrading my own car audio system, something i have never done before.

And when I was looking at all the components, I see that amps and HUs need 'installation kits', pretty self explanatory, but as I look at those installation kits more, I wonder how much of them I can make myself.

For example lets look at a standard '4 AWG amp installation kit'
Complete 4 Gauge Amplifier Kit (powerkit4) 4 Gauge Amplifier Wiring Kits Amplifier Installation Car Accessories and Installation Car Audio and Video - Sonic Electronix

I know i can make the speaker cables and RCAs from cat5, and they will even beat the sound of very expensive cables (this is true for home audio at least)

TNT tripleT
Piano 6/1 DIY interconnects [English]

but what about the 4AWG power and grounding cables? I know in DIY home audio people make their own cat5 power cables for their amps. But no one seem to do it for car audio? or at least I can't find them.

The TNT - TTS DIY mains cable

So I wonder if I can make my own 'amp installation kit' instead of paying $40 for some generic mass market rubbish.

·
Registered
2,298 Posts
Power wire is available by the foot in pretty much any gauge, in all types of quality.
If you're meaning laying out bare copper and making your own shielding, I don't have much input on that...

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
Amp kits are just there for convenience. You can definitely piece it together yourself if you have all the items. Customizing is the way to go since a.) you already have half the items and b.) you can choose exactly what you need. You'll just need to do a little bit of research to get what you need.

Power and ground cables are the same wire... just different colors on the sleeve.