DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, so I've been doing research into upgrading my front speaker set up in my car. It seems like every turn I take in figuring out what I want I stumble onto this forum more and more, so here I am.

I currently have some JL VR650CSi components up front. They were my first aftermarket speakers ever that I got in high school (8 years old now IIRC), and I have certainly grown out of them in my listening ability and budget.

I've found quite a few sets of pretty nice components, but the more I read the more I want to move to an active crossover set up and choose my mid range woofers and tweeters myself. I've never done this before, so there is tons to learn.

As far as power goes, I currently run 100 W rms to my doors, and would like to take a bump up from that. 125-150W rms each side for the woofers seems like a reasonable target range. I think a realistic price point for really good woofers (for me) is between 300 and 400 dollars.

As far as tweeters go I know even less about shopping for them. I've heard so much pseudoscience about tweeter materials around my car communities, I'm digging for real facts to shop by.

As far as the crossover arrangement, I'm considering using something with a 24 db/octave L-R, and also building speaker pods into the doors to both aim the drivers and place them on the same vertical plane. This is just an initial idea though.

One big question I have with doing an active set up is how to match power of woofer and tweeter for a setup. When I do the install I fully intend to use a meter and map the response curves of the individual drivers in the car to set gains and crossover points, but in pairing equipment I need to at least get close.

I think that is plenty for now, thanks for any and all help sent my way. I will continue reading as much as I can find now.

·
Registered
2,777 Posts