DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a bit of a noob in audio, I'm hoping someone can help me understand...

I had stock head unit, aftermarket amp and 4 door speakers (components in front, coaxial in rear doors) installed by a shop several years ago. No subwoofer.
When that was done I had fun reading sounddeadeningshowdown and following everything there, so I pulled out my interior and did 25% coverage CLD, MLV/CCF everywhere, etc.

Recently stock head unit died, have put in a sony instead. In general audio seems better, but now I'm noticing so muddiness/inaccuracy in the bass.

Reading on hear about muddy bass, and I see a couple common remedies to try first in the sound deadening category (which suits me as I've done that type of thing before so confident I can try it again)
1. foam rings to keep the sound going through the door panel instead of sideways, plus the foam diffuser behind the speaker
2. (more) sealing of the inner door skin.

Both seem to have the intent to prevent reflected sound waves canceling the forward ones.

I'm confused though, if I already have an MLV curtain in that door, wouldn't that effectively block mid-bass waves trying to come forward? Would would an additional barrier do that MLV doesn't?

·
Registered
104 Posts
Well I for one did more than 25% cld coverage. Probably closer to 65% outer door skin and 90% inner door skin with CCF covering 95% inner door skin. No MLV and my mid bass hits. Wouldn’t add anymore MLV but would add more CLD. I just added a set of those Speaker gaskets made out of CCF and didn’t notice any improvement. How did you set gains after new headunit? Seems like it’s not a door issue with sound deadening if you only changed out the headunit.

·
Registered
7,863 Posts