DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Camaro 2SS
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm planning my system for a 2021 Camaro (Bose) and looking for advice on DSP.
The car requires the Zen OEM integration device which has both RCA and TOSLINK outputs.

My original choice was the miniDSP 6X8, which I've used in my previous install and had excellent results with.
However, it does not support the TOSLINK connection.

The miniDSP C-DSP8X12 does have the TOSLINK but it's almost twice as expensive.
My other option is the AudioControl 810 which does have TOSLINK input but I have no experience with at all and cost almost 3 times as much.

Is the digital input worth the extra cost? or will running the miniDSP 6X8 with RCAs be just as good?

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I personally like the TOSLink connection (mine goes from a PAC AmpPro 4 to a Helix DSP.3). It basically eliminates the possibility of interference-related noise issues that you can potentially run into with RCAs - and it also allows you to connect everything via a single, rather thin cable instead of the more bulky RCAs.

However, there are some that say that an optical connection is not significantly better than analog RCA's too... Also, you will lose head-unit fade control with an optical connection (only provides 2-channel audio output).