DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
4,981 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey gang,

its been a while since my last E90 build, and i have been eagerly looking forward to this for a while, as its my first project on the M3.

lets get started shall we?

Goals:

1. Achieve a good level of SQ
2. Maintain stock locations on the interior
3. build a trunk set that is stealthy and retain as much cargo space as possible

so in other words, its a bit similar to my other two E90 builds posted here. :)

So first, here is the car itself, looking fast just standing still :)

The car features the premium system, and based on past experience, i once again chose to use the JBL MS8, as i feel that given the less than ideal stock locations, the center channel ability of the ms8 really helps to pull the stage up and forward. Except this time, the signal is tapped via a Mobridge DA2 pre-amp instead of directly from the headunit since this car has the MOST link in it.

I installed the ms8 remote display in the glovebox, and also ran an extension for the MS8's mic cable there for easy plug and play tuning:

A set of Morel's new Hybrid 4" midrange and MT230 tweeter went into the stock locations in the doors, first, two pairs of speaker wires were run into the doors, whcih goes into the cabin above the molex plug:

I choose the MT230 tweeter because the Morel is almost like a stock fitment on the BMWs...so here is the oem tweeter in the sail panel mount:

and here is the MT230 in comparison:

snapped in place:

and the stock foam cover back on:

I then fabbed up a pair of mounting rings for the morel midrange to go into the stock location, there were coated on both sides with truck bedliner to protect them against the elements, though no water should hit them at all due to the sealed nature of the door, the morels were then mounted to them, a foam gasket was added to the edges to prevent any rattling of the speaker against the door: