DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Alpine SWR-10D2 (1000 watts rms) i'm mounting to an alpine MRX-M110 and am looking to build a box for it. I'm going for SQ so I figured a sealed box would be best, am i right?

I was told by a buddy who owns an audio shop that this sub is best in a ported box, however upon plugging all info into WinISD to tune the port correctly it's saying I would need port length over 60 inches and I'd still be pushing out over 60 ft/s air velocity.

So my questions are for best SQ, ported or sealed? if ported do i need to worry about air velocity? I am completely new at designing ported enclosures so I apologize for the dumbness going on here lol

·
Registered
365 Posts
60 inches??
as far as i'm concerned every woofer works better in a ported box but i'm a ported box guy some guy's love sealed boxes it's all about what you like.
there are a few factors that determine port length.
enclosure volume(size)
tuning frequency
port size like 3in or 4in if it is going to be round or slotted???
the smaller the round port the shorter it is and the smaller the box the longer the port is going to be.
if it's round i wouldn't go less than 4in in my experience 3in sucks.
you can go here and do some calculations...
i don't know the program you working with but this link is pretty dam good for that stuff.
Car Alarm, Car Stereo, Mobile Video, and Cruise Control Info for Installers
or keep it simple go with a sealed box

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the help, I thought of one more question, Do I run the risk of blowing my sub? The sub is rated 1000RMS and 3000peak, with the amp being 1100RMS and 1800 max.

·
Registered
6,584 Posts