DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I’m new to this site, so if this post should go in a different spot, please let me know. And sorry for the long post,..

I’m a novice. I know some basics of audio, but I don’t have RTA equipment or anything fancy, I just experiment a lot using an A/B speaker switch to try things out. The system I’ve built (and am continually trying to improve) is in my 1964 Riviera. Components are mid-grade: Pioneer 80PRS hu, Morel Virtus 5 ¼ components, Kenwood XR901-5 amp, JL shallow 10” sealed sub.

Over nearly 15 years I’ve done lots of noodling to try to get the system sounding decent. I started with fiberglass speaker pods mounted to the doors, tried speakers in the kick panels, stuffed things with polyfill and done things to stiffen and deaden resonance, tried different brands and prices of speakers, but no matter what I tried it always sounded weak or had a hollow, muddy droning through the mid-low frequencies. When I reluctantly cut holes in the doors and put the speakers in there, the improvement was shocking. It left me with the impression that even for smaller speakers, the enclosure is everything. Like, I knew it’s critical for subwoofers, but was surprised at how much difference the space behind the speaker could make for 5 ¼ or even 3” drivers.

But I also get the sense I’m missing something, some important key to making smaller speakers sound good without large volumes of air. My Orb Audio speakers at home have 3” drivers and sound very clean, but when I built a shallow box out of MDF to experiment with a center speaker in the dash (a 3.5” driver), the enclosure made it sound like a cheap boombox, no matter how much polyfill I stuffed in it. Simply having free air beneath it sounded drastically better, even if it meant backwaves were bouncing around and escaping everywhere.