DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey whats up folks,

Well this is my first active system, and you can check out my other build thread to get some background info on what exactly I have going on, but I have a question to ask about a certain crossover and its compatibility with an equalizer.
You see, like I said, I have never done an active system before, and therefore I have never used an electronic active crossover before either.

The reason I am going to finally attempt an active system is because I want to build the best stereo system possible to go with the rest of the truck. "Go big or go home" has become my de-facto motive everytime I start designing certain aspects of the truck.
(the truck is going to be a completely custom build. Built Corvette LS2 engine, custom Long Travel suspension "PreRunner style", a custom fiberglass/carbon fiber interior: dash, door panels, console, headliner, pillars, kickpanels, basically all panels,etc, One-off 'glass 1-piece front end, bedsides, and rollpan, Pojector HID headlights, All LED lighting throughout truck)

So with all of that said,I am designing an active 3-way system that will consist of 2 - 8" Dayton RS225 midbass drivers, my 4 - Infinity Perfect 6.5's from the component sets, 2 - 3"/or 4" Dayton midranges and 1" Tweeters (undetermined still). For subwoofers I will be using my Infinity Perfect 10dvq's (2 of them).

Since the amps are all Hifonics, which I have always been very happy with, I was looking at the Hifonics HFXR 2/3way Crossover. Here is the info on it:

Hifonics HFXR 2-way / 3-way Active Crossover with Remote Bass

2-Way/3-Way Electronic Crossover,
Select 2-channel or 4-channel inputs with switch
Bass boost (0-12dB @ 45Hz)
Max pre-amp output: 8.5-Volts RMS
45Hz Bass boost with quasi-parametric EQ
Can be used with mono or stereo woofers
180-degree phase-shift switch