DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I ask any questions I want to give a little background.

I stopped installing professionally a few years ago and my last SQ install was stolen around the same time. I used to be an installer for Tweeter. Not long after I got a new truck and moved to FL to finish college. I was not going to put a system in my truck (05 Toyota x-runner) when I moved to FL so other then a small 4 chan amp and some wires I brought down I left all my extra gear in boxes in Chicago. Being a student means that I have very little $ to spend on anything let alone my trucks sound system. Well Just the other day I decided to install that 4 channel amp (older alpine) using the extra wires I brought down and only spending money on a line level converter. Well as many of you have expereinced I want to do more, much more, but I don't have the money or tools down here to do any of the work. So whats a man to do. Well I have decided to make the most cost effecient install I can design.

This will be using the stock HU (6 disk changer) and the 4 channel amp which is wired for both front and rear. With possibly the exception of the tweeters I will be using stock locations for all the drivers. I will add a sub one day but that may not be for years so this will be designed as a subless system. I am currently running the rear channels in lowpass to act as little sub/midbasses to help augment the stock front speakers. Currently the truck sound ok but it has no midbass, some bass and if it is pushed even a little hard the drivers bottom out.