DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to build my own enclosure for my subs in my 09 rav4 base model. As i am a college student i dont want to spend money on paying for others to build. In need of guidance, have many questions: do i need to build a box or can i just put a piece of wood ontop of the cargo are to hold the speakers? Attached is the space of the car im talking about

Attachments

·
Registered
331 Posts
You could use the cargo, but you would still need to seal the chamber that you make by using the cargo area. First so how deep it would be by laying a flat peace of wood or ruler across the cargo and see how deep it is. Then look to see if the sub you have, or will get. Will fit. You may be able to use one 12” driver in it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,414 Posts
Yes, you can do this. I plan on doing something very similar

Just make sure to seal off potential leaks with rubberized weather stripping. Also, two 10" subwoofers are going to want to jump around and vibrate. Make sure you can either screw the false floor board down or secure it by other means. For instance, in my photo I have metal ties downs in each of the 4 corners. These might come in handy.

Ge0

Reactions: Kate7600

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You could use the cargo, but you would still need to seal the chamber that you make by using the cargo area. First so how deep it would be by laying a flat peace of wood or ruler across the cargo and see how deep it is. Then look to see if the sub you have, or will get. Will fit. You may be able to use one 12” driver in it.

The cargo area is about 9in deep and the subs are around 6in tall

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8