DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm looking to place a sub in the back of my car, and I'm just starting the process of researching different ones. I have a coworker who really enjoys his JBL GTO1014. I'm considering getting the Dual-voice coil version and hooking it up to an MBquart Discus DSC2150 and running the voice coils in parallel. Does this sound like a solid setup? Keep in mind that I'm a student who's looking to do this on a budget.
Thanks!

·
Registered
2,298 Posts
Do you already have the DSC2150?
The reason I ask is because that amp and a dual 4 ohm coil sub isn't going to work out well, especially not with the coils in parallel. It can be bridged, but only to a 4 ohm load or higher.
If you already have that amp, the single coil GTO1014 will work out better for you.

·
Registered
46 Posts
So I'm looking to place a sub in the back of my car, and I'm just starting the process of researching different ones. I have a coworker who really enjoys his JBL GTO1014. I'm considering getting the Dual-voice coil version and hooking it up to an MBquart Discus DSC2150 and running the voice coils in parallel. Does this sound like a solid setup? Keep in mind that I'm a student who's looking to do this on a budget.
Thanks!

If thats all you can afford, then you aren't doing to bad. What kind of box and what kind of vehicle are you putting this in?

What is the overall desired effect you are looking for? Low and loud, loud and accurate, just to add some low end, the beginning of a monster project, etc?

You need ask yourself, what is your end goal with being "your first sub setup". It could get very expensive if you buy something you are not happy with or decide it is not enough and you want to upgrade. For car audio, having to much is sometimes better and cheaper for long haul.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Do you already have the DSC2150?