DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name Russ and I'm a college student at Texas A&M University. I've been working on cars since I was 12, but I've never done any audio work.

I have a blown tweeter in my SLK 350 and I'm getting ready to replace the pair of them. Is there anything I need to look out for in selecting replacement speakers? I've done a small amount of research and learned just enough to be dangerous.

At some point I'd like to upgrade my whole system, so with that in mind, can I buy speakers that exceed the limitations of my stock amp?

Please forgive me if I've got some of the terminology wrong; I'm still trying to learn all of the basics of car audio.

Also if anybody knows of any good guides to basic car audio that I can read online, links would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
My name Russ and I'm a college student at Texas A&M University. I've been working on cars since I was 12, but I've never done any audio work.

I have a blown tweeter in my SLK 350 and I'm getting ready to replace the pair of them. Is there anything I need to look out for in selecting replacement speakers? I've done a small amount of research and learned just enough to be dangerous.

At some point I'd like to upgrade my whole system, so with that in mind, can I buy speakers that exceed the limitations of my stock amp?

Please forgive me if I've got some of the terminology wrong; I'm still trying to learn all of the basics of car audio.

Also if anybody knows of any good guides to basic car audio that I can read online, links would be greatly appreciated.