DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

This is my first thread and I would really appreciate some help and guidance in upgrading my stock system. I am fairly new to car audio so please don't take offense if I ask some silly questions.

What I am looking for and Key Info:
- I listen primarily to House, Hip Hop, Pop (Michael Jackson...) and Classic Rock Music.
- I am looking for a system that that has superb imaging, detail and a neutral to slightly warm sound.
- I want the Bass to blend seamlessly, but still accurately hit those low notes the system would otherwise struggle with or miss.
- My budget is flexible and sits at around $2,750 plus install. If I am not too far away from a big step up then I will spend a bit more.
- I have no issue with Second Hand Gear
- I want the system to truly do the car justice

Let me bring you all up to speed on what I plan on doing:

- Dynamat/SPL on Doors and Rear Decklid
- Subwoofer firing through the ski pass
- New 3 Way Component System
- New Amp/s
- Use Stock Cd Player and Nav Unit

I have narrowed my options down to the following (after reading many many threads here):

Option 1 (Dynaudio):
Esotec 342 System
Esotar 1200 Sub
Audison Bit One

Option 2 (Hertz Audio):
Hertz Mille MLK 3 PA
JL Audio 12W6V2
Audison Bit one

Option 3 (Morel):
Not too familiar, but I know it is highly regarded (A Morel 3 Way Component System)
JL Audio 12W6V2
Audison Bit One

Option 4 (Esotar/Esotec)- I WISH (Likely too far out of budget, would need to be all second hand and still a stretch)
Esotar 650 (Pair)
Esotar 430 (Pair)
Esotec Tweeter (Pair), Esotar Doesn't Fit
Esotar Passive Crossovers (Pair)
Esotar Sub
Audison Bit One

Questions:

- As I do not have the ability to listen to the above speakers, which option, or combination of the various options, is better and why?

- Which option would you consider the best bang for buck option?