DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a newbie and I've read so much bad things about 3M's spray glues and I don't have a glue spray gun and air, so I'm in search for a spray can glue to hold the carpet to my mdf front on my fiber glass enclosure.

I've bought some local stuff. I've sprayed, waited the appropriate time and then put the carpet on really good and tight. It's been a week now, and I wanted to see how good it was sticking to my test mdf piece.

I know the box probably won't be exposed to the same force I make when trying to peel it off, but I think it should be harder to take it off than in the video. Or am I expecting too much of a glue?

I'm not quite sure what kind of failure I see. If it's cohesive or adhesive failure. I can live with cohesive.

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
It didn't look like you were pulling very hard to get that carpet to separate. If it pulls that easily now, it'll fail on it's own after a few months in the heat. If you don't have the means to carpet it correctly yourself, pay a shop locally to do it for you. Make sure they use DAP Landau top trim adhesive. It's pretty much the only thing that works. Sometimes there is no substitute for the correct tools and materials.

·
Registered
1,819 Posts
I have decent results with contact cement and a brush. The room you are working in should be 20 degrees C for the cement to set up properly.

You can brush the CC liberally onto the mdf. The only trick is not spreading it too heavily onto the carpet as it can soak through and start to look messy.

I have used it on black carpet and had the cement soak through in a few places. Got out the permanent marker and pretty much covered up what had soaked through.

In Canada we cannot get the Dap High heat trim and top. I was told the Canadian substitute is called Helmiprene 4510, unfortunately I think it only comes in 5 gallon buckets.

·
Registered
19,268 Posts