DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

So I'm just beginning to get into car audio. I've been messing with Hi-Fi home stereos for quite a while now, so I'm not completely dumb with audio. However, I am aware I know next to nothing about car audio, and I'm working on learning more. I'm 20 and I wasn't around for or I was too young during the good years of car audio.

All through out High School, the only car audio I knew were morons with big tacky trucks with a "system". Their "system" usually consisted of something along the lines of stock speakers, paired with some crummy "subs" and a "4000 Watt amp" that weighed about 3lbs. They would drive through the parking lot, trying to blast these things beyond there abilities. It was horribly distored, clipping amps, unbalanced, etc. And of course, none of the body panels were insulated, so it was accomponied with groaning body panels and rattling license plates. As you can imagine, I never thought anything good about car audio, especially being in to hi-fi stuff. I just figured that was what it was about and I never looked into it. I knew there was the LCD in the headrest type builds, but those were a bit flashy for my taste. I respected it, but it wasn't my thing. Not too long after high school, I stumbled upon the video about Wayne Harris on the Texas Tales news segment with Terminator. I was fascinated. I started reading about how extensive the build was and that it was built for sound quality. I was amazed that there was this old school world of car audio. When it was all about analog components and making a real sounding stereo in the car. When digital components were something special to have in the system. I knew I had to get into this.