DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'll make this simple with no details, but I have had a system (it IS my first so I'm still learning things) in my car for a month or two that my friend and I installed. I'm getting very frustrated with one particular ground wire that I have attached under a bolt on my driver's side front door. It always either isn't secure or just keeps breaking. And it's a serious issue because I'm worried that it might happen one day while I'm actually using the system. Is there a REALLY good, specific way to make sure this can never happen? Because I'm not sure why it doesn't stay put. I screw it in under the bolt using a socket wrench every time, and I always make sure it's nice and tight. But sure enough, it either came out or broke again (haven't taken the bolt out yet to see if there's a piece of it under there). I make sure to give the wire plenty of slack to move with the door, too, meaning when I open it. So I'm just not sure what to do. Help!

·
Registered
898 Posts
By what you sad. EW that ground. I soldered mine near my tire well, near the rear right tire. Just have to be bare metal (scrape that paint off!) and use a nut and bolt.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can't figure out what EW means but I get I should clean the area, solder it under the bolt THEN tighten rather than just what I was doing? Also, it does have a washer type thing too, but I'm not sure what's better: if I should go under that too, or just in-between the bolt and washer but not directly on the car? Or does that not even matter?

·
Registered
7,406 Posts
You need a ring terminal, it sounds like you may have one already..

You gotta make sure it's tight, not being PULLED on and not being crushed/pinched

You also need to make sure the ring is tight on the wire

If the wire is too short, it needs to be moved...