DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my setup:
Sony 9500 feeding a stereo pair to a DSP.3S feeding 4 channels to a Biketronics BT180 feeding a two-way implementation of NZ3 wideband and SK8 woofer.

That's it. Simple two-way setup.

I've learned that the Audiotec-Fischer software has built-in time alignment and automatic RTA. I tried this and got what I consider really good results! The thing is, I've never done this before and have no frame of reference to another SQ system. I have a very deep and broad technical background with engineering/programming and have built my own home speakers from the brain of the late Sig Linkwitz of Linkwitz-Reily fame. So, I already know I'm using L-R 4th order 24-db crossovers.

I'm working my way through the Audiofrog tuning guide. And I love how detailed the author is. I know a lot of this already, but it's helpful to review.

So, the first thing I did after I hooked everything up is let the software use my MiniDSP calibrated microphone to set the timing and RTA. It worked pretty well, but in the back of my mind I'm wondering if this is the stopping point, or the starting point to further manual tweaking.

I realized my automatic seat didn't get repositioned to my set memory location when I did the first run, so I need to re-calibrate using the proper seat location since it's about 60cm difference.

I'm still playing around with the proper cross-over point. I started out at 250hz, and changed to 550hz after the automatic RTA was maxing out sliders trying to boost the 800hz range. 550hz seems to have gotten me closer but the software still complains it's not able to solve the equation satisfactorily. As smart as this software is, it doesn't seem like that much of a leap to go ahead and automatically set the cross-over points, right? Maybe a future release.