DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finished up my install and following is a brief description. Helix v8 running hertz 163.3 active front on 6 of the channels and 2 remaining running stock rear speakers at a very low volume and set up as rear fill. Also have 2 Alpine s series 10s on a hifonics bx1000D. Sundown saz-1500D on the way for the subs. Stock B&O head unit in an f250, nav tv a2b with optical cable connecting signal to Helix. Rca outs from helix to BX amp.

I'm new with the DSP but think I have it tuned in pretty reasonably. I read both the helix sound magazines and the sound quality and imaging is excellent. Sure I can improve and will spend many more hours playing with it.

My issue concern is with the volume of my mid bass volume level. I have to turn the reciver volume most of the way up to get decent output. I'm using the optical input so gain setting on the amp is not adjustable. I have the gains in the dsp for both mid bass channels turned up 5 db, mids knocked down a bunch along with tweets. I'm getting about 90 db and was expecting a little more. Am I expecting to much from 1 pair of 6.5s and subs? I feel like i'm missing a gain adjustment somewhere. Similar systems I had years ago would top 100 to 110. Maybe my old systems were bass heavy and not tuned to a reference curve?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

· Registered
2018 Honda Accord EXL 2.0 GB 3way doors GB40/10 centre Helix M4dsp/M6 Sundown salt MMats + more
3,749 Posts
How are your doors treated? Are they sealed properly? 75rms is the drawback of the Helix V series. That and door nulls for the midbass area will always lack impact.

· Banned
24,246 Posts
75rms is the drawback of the Helix V series.