DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm a college student working on a project about the audio industry and as a part of it I am attempting to illustrate how the different audio prices have changed over the years. I have narrowed it down to amplifiers, speakers, and tuners but require some assistance with finding prices specifically for the 2000-2010 years. I have found extensive magazines from the 80s, and 90s, however I am unable to find many magazines that continued past 2000. I am looking for either car audio or home audio, either would help. I've started emailing some of the bigger companies but it must either be to much work for them or they don't release that information. Either way anything helps, thanks in advance!

·
Slowpoke
1,361 Posts
You want prices on everything or did you have some specific gear in mind? I don't believe a database for the former exists so you will have your work cut out.

I can say this pretty confidently - it's cheaper than ever to get into this game. For a guy who got started in the early 90s, the options are far greater and and price for entry has gone down considerably. And new gear is still being introduced every day. I hear people all the time (especially around here) lamenting the fall of car audio, but IMHO, there has never been a better time to enjoy the hobby.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Hi Connor. I need to do some digging, but I may have something you would enjoy. I ran a Crank-It-Up organization that used retail pricing of amplifiers to determine competitor categories. I had the "Buyers Guide" editions of Car Stereo Review copied and put into binders for my judges, or at least about 10 years worth in the time period you are looking for. I think they are at my old lake house in the garage where my ex lives, but I need to dig around in the garage to find my router bits anyway, so I will look for you when I do go out there.

·
Slowpoke
1,361 Posts