DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am a newbie to diy car audio and raw driver application. I myself am running a prety crappy DLS R6 components actively crossed through Alpine9853 unit. I am located in Kitchener, Canada, so I have to do all my shopping through Solen.ca.
I am currently putting a system for my friend and made a decision to go active (through Alpine9855 unit). He has 92 VW Passat. I will put 6.5 mids in the doors and tweeters would have to go on the dash. I have no idea what drivers to choose really. Since his tweeters will be on dash, I suppose I need a good off-axis one?
So far personally I've heard Peerless 6.5 mid, not sure on model number, in my friends car. And I was given a recommendation by this friend to go with this driver, since at least I know what it sounds like. As far as the tweeter goes, I prety much made my mind up about LPG-25nfa, but since I'll be buying off Solen.ca they aren't in stock and we have to wait about 8 weeks (this info is coming from a 4day old thread on page 4 or something). I also read that Morel tweeters are great, but looking at the models mentioned I don't think I would be able to fit them in the dash...
I've read through reviews on this forum, and they are really great, but nothing really sits in my mind. I just need some time to organize information in my head.
So if you have some suggestions on how to pair up drivers and tweeters, that'd be crazy great! My friend listens mostly to rock music, with occasional mix of other kinds. This is his first system, coming from a stock cassete deck, so he'll be amazed anyway. I just want to put together something decent and will last him some time. Our budget is basically $300CAD.
Thanks!

·
Registered
60 Posts
Seas CA18RNX are 6.5" drivers that are very well liked on this forum.

I ordered a pair of CA18RNX and a pair of 25NFA from Solen and the total including taxes was around $290 CAN.