DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
2016 GMC Sierra
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read Andy's TA approach many times and I am still new to DSP.. Learning more each month. However, I have a 2016 GMC truck with 3 way Focals... Midbass and Mid in factory locations and tweeter is in front on Mid on Dash about an inch cut into dash facing Windshield (I know not the best location, but wanted clean look) and don't have the mechanical ability to modify A -Pillar) . Also have a few difference curves to try as well, but always use Andy's test gear curve as reference. Every single time I do it, I have to drop the level on the passenger side Mid and tweeter - 5 in order to get center imagine. So frustrating because I know that throws off the imagine all together as well... I have done measurements each time and know I am correct on that and input data info JL TWK 88... However, today I adjusted the level on the right side again just a little, but I also decreased the delay on the left side by .21ms and boom, the imagine centered... However, i am the kind of guy that has to understand why... so I ask WHY?... why would that work and am I screwing anything up by doing that imagine wise.. sounds good, but I guess need to compare songs... Could it be because of the mid and tweeter in the dash on the right side are reflecting causing it to throw off the measured TA delay or?? Like the bound in that sound is hitting ears first before left? I just would rather keep the REW frequency on both side the same (match) and not have to move levels.. however, I know in Andy's article, he says never adjust delay to get center imagine.. so confused...

· Registered
2016 GMC Sierra
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
At frequencies with wavelengths shorter than the size of your head, your brain localizes sound on volume difference, not arrival time.