DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a set of 10" Rockford Fosgate "The Punch Classic" woofers the other day, and they came in a truck box by RF. The guy i got them from said that They will wire to one channel. Basically, it goes as follows

amp>input on box 1>output on box 1> input on box 2

The subs are 8ohm, and he said this will bring the load down to 4 OHM

He also said that a 200-400 watt amp would work fine.

My questions are

1. what watt amp should i get
2. do i need to get one with a certain OHM rating?
3. i am considering replacing my speakers (2 door, 2 behind the seat) down the road. Should i get a 5 channel amp now? or just a mono channel and then a 4 channel if i replace speakers?

Thanks, as you can tell im brand new to this, so forgive me if i used the wrong terms. haha Thanks

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What is your budget? Are you going to keep these woofers for a long time, or just use them for a while and then change?
Well, i paid $50 for the subs and boxes. I will prolly get something on craigslist, so i get a deal but its not bad quality. I just dont really know what specs to look for. And i doubt i will upgrade for a while.

·
5,210 Posts
If they are 8 ohm then wire them in parallel, which means a 4 ohm stable amp is fine.

You can use a Multi-Meter to check the terminals on the box to verify if they are 8 ohm.

A CL amp is fine. It's good to know what to look for. Anything that looks or smells burnt, walk away. Buy quality, not quantity. Newer amps are nice because that generally means they have had less abuse. I would look for an amp with a SSF (sub-sonic filter). 400W RMS will be fine.

GL

·
Registered
2,502 Posts

·
Registered
2,502 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
No it says 150x1
The maximum it can do is 300x1 but u want to look at rated/rms power and not maximum or peak power