DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am looking at upgrading the audio setup in my kia seltos. It came with Bose 8 speaker setup with a bose amp including a small sub in the trunk. The sound doesnt have much clarity, its an integrated system and only got 3 eq settings treble, mid, bass. When i increase the volume i feel like the system is holding back the sound. I mean the bass is tight and miss the crispness.

I took a look at the speaker in front door. It looks like a 6.5inch 2ohm speaker with a very tiny mangent at the back. This is first experience with a Bose car audio.

I was if i could upgrade to better speakers while leaving the amp as it is. In my previous car i had alpine speaker and they were really gr8.

I am new to this so excuse any stupid questions.

I am also considering installing sound dampening matt inside the car. I dont want to go loud db wise but more crisp and clear sound with nice bass.

I am considering installing Dynamat or Focal BAM in the doors to start with. Took the car to few installers, all of their opinions were different.
  1. Replace front speaker was suggested to Focal ES165K2
  2. Tweeter has got issues or is pulled back a lot
  3. Need to install a DSP and re-tune the system was suggested hertz h8
  4. Need a digital to analog converter, to bypass bose amp, then install new analog amp and speakers
I dont want to break the budget in terms of upgrade. I am just looking for an option to improve the sound quality.
Had a closer look at the bose amp, its some sort of digital amp as its footprint is very small and sleek. Its got two connectors automotive type. Assuming one is input and one is output. The input one is a yellow connector with 4 red and 4 black wires, along with smaller guage wires.
Reading this forum for a combo of Bose and Hyundai/Kia sounds like some sort of digital (SPDIF) signal.