DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to mobile audio.
I am building a 1963 Thunderbird. I will have a sub in the trunk. I want a 2way for the rear seats, and I have room for a 4inch. I do not want a speaker grill visible on the rear metal quarters, so I was wondering if I could mount the speaker behind the panel and drill holes for the grill?
How many and how big would they have to be to get sound out of them?

Thanks, Jim

·
Registered
5,755 Posts
My brother has a '65 T-Bird, I'm trying to picture the inside of it. It has a rear deck right, is the where you are talking about? If so, is it solid metal?

I think a series of maybe 1/4" holes should work

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is actually a home made roadster so no rear package try.
I am looking at the area near where the rear armrests are.

Thanks, Jim

·
Registered
154 Posts
From your post I assume your 1963 Thunderbird is a coupe, because I don't think the convertible had a rear shelf and the trunk was completely taken over by the top.

IIRC, the 1963 Thunderbird came with an AM radio with one speaker in the center of the dash, firing upwards.

If you want to leave the car completely original, you have limited options. :(

One way would be a completely hidden system with a radio/CD changer in the trunk and speakers mounted under the front seats. Needless to say, that won't sound very good. :(

Another option would be to build a set of kick panels and swap those for the originals. Than way you can always return the car to its original condition later.

Completely hidden audio systems can be found here:
Vintage Car Radio .com

The components are controlled by RF remote.

Not the top choice for SQ, but if you want to keep your vehicle original it is an OK compromise.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6