DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am quite new at this, so please excuse my ignorance. I have tried to search the world wide web for magical answers but I'm afraid I've failed.
I have a 1999 Toyota 4runner. I simply want a better sounding system - not awesome, just better. I also don't want to spend $$ for an install, and I kind of want to do some hands on learning along the way.

I bought a new Pioneer HU, Energy Coaxial speakers, and an MTX terminator sub that came with an amp (1 channel).

I only want to replace 2 front speakers (original system has 6).

Visions guy told me to run all the speakers (6) through the factory amp - simply replace the 2. Everywhere I've looked online say to bypass the factory amp because new HU usually have more power.

Do I use the factory amp?

For the sub/amp install, how would I go from the HU to the amp to only power the sub?

Thanks!

·
Registered
61 Posts
I am quite new at this, so please excuse my ignorance. I have tried to search the world wide web for magical answers but I'm afraid I've failed.
I have a 1999 Toyota 4runner. I simply want a better sounding system - not awesome, just better. I also don't want to spend $$ for an install, and I kind of want to do some hands on learning along the way.

I bought a new Pioneer HU, Energy Coaxial speakers, and an MTX terminator sub that came with an amp (1 channel).

I only want to replace 2 front speakers (original system has 6).

Visions guy told me to run all the speakers (6) through the factory amp - simply replace the 2. Everywhere I've looked online say to bypass the factory amp because new HU usually have more power.

Do I use the factory amp?

For the sub/amp install, how would I go from the HU to the amp to only power the sub?

Thanks!
I would power all but your new speakers off the factory amp. Power the new ones with the head unit.