DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone. I'm a newbie on this forum.

I'm considering trying IB in my Lexus LS430.
3-way SQ setup. At the moment the sub is Sinfoni C320 in a sealed box, but it has to be rebuilt to fit correctly and to direct the sub upwards.
Love the sound, a very fast, deep response. But it will take a lot of work to rebuild the box.

I've attached the photos on my trunk. The rear seats do not fall down, there's a refrigerator and there's rear AC system. + there's a sound insulation behind the seats and I installed.

So the only way the air from the sub is coming - is throughout the factory 8 (increased to 10) inch hole in the rear deck.

I wanted to try 1x15 or 1x18 FI ib318 v2 pointing to the trunk so the air will come throughout the rear deck. (4-th picture attached).
Reasons:
- Easier to build the baffle than to build a custom sealed box.
- Takes less space / less weight.
- To play very low with ease.

Can you please advice - is it worth it to build an IB in this trunk and the best way to do it?
Will the 18-inch sub match the speed of my 6 inch midbass?

Thank you very much!

Attachments

·
Registered
674 Posts
I too would like to hear opinions on this, and/or ideas.

I also have an LS430, a 2001 with just over 198k miles on it.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Update: bought an IB sub. FI IB3 18inch.
Will be installing it.

Question: Is it necessary to build the rear wall of the manifold as shown on this image? (behind the magnet). Or is the front wall enough?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,888 Posts
No if you can get a good seal to the deck only thing I'm worried about is some weird quasi Bandpass behavior. The front is going to be a regular baffle right?

·
Registered
674 Posts
Any updates on this?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Update:

I will be installing FI IB3 18 (first gen) soon. Choosing the location at the moment.