DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so i'm relatively new to car audio and i am about to start a new install on my car. Im thinking of putting in Polk MM6501 Comps in a 2003 Volvo V70, running off a Pioneer AVH-6300bt (already installed) and running them off a Massive Audio Nx2. I also already run a Alpine Type X 12" off a Massive Audio N3. I keep reading everywhere that "install is everything" so before i begin i want to make sure I'm prepared. Are there any tips, recommendations, suggestions or anything else anyone has? I have put in speakers but never comps before so anything that wont be obvious would be helpful. Also if there is equipment that would serve me better in the same price range feel free to post it up. Thanks

·
Registered
896 Posts
Best advice I can give you Mike "take your time", or don't get into a hurry. This is when you cut corners and things don't turn out so well. I know we all get excited to "hear it" now. Use proper wiring, good ground points (not sheet metal), deaden and strengthen speaker mounting locations, protect your speakers from the elements in the doors using baffles. Make sure your mid and woofer have a perfectly flat mounting surface. If not make one. Don't put x/o inside door. I know people hate running 2 or 3 wires through the jam, don't do it less you can keep it aways from moisture. I'm sure others will chime in with some important stuff. Good luck!!

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a lot, so where would you recommend I mount the cross overs? And will I need to run all so new speaker wire to do the 125 rms to each? If so what gauge would you recommend? Also I've been looking at the JBL MS 62's and I'm debating between these and the Polks, any suggestions?

·
Registered
896 Posts