DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've noticed no sound coming from the tweeter, and I took the door apart and started inspecting. Take a look at this, does this mean I need to replace the entire crossover?

·
ROCKY TOP
1,750 Posts
Definately does not look good..have u tested the tweeter without xover? Just get rid of those xover’s and get a dsp!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
254 Posts
Swap channels on the crossover and see if the tweeter plays. And gumbeelee us right... get a dsp.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Swap channels on the crossover and see if the tweeter plays. And gumbeelee us right... get a dsp.
I wired it up directly to another audio source and the tweeter is working fine. The other channel going to the 6.5" speaker also works. I'm a newbie here, what's a DSP? Would I have to replace the crossover in the other door as well with a DSP? These wires are coming from an amplifier so it's already powered.

·
Registered
391 Posts
If the tweeter works when off the crossover, then yes the tweeter section of the crossover is damaged. You could replace the components on the tweeter side, replace the entire crossover, or go active with a digital signal processor (dsp) running before your amplifier. The dsp would provide crossover, equalizer, and time alignment duties before the amplifier

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If the tweeter works when off the crossover, then yes the tweeter section of the crossover is damaged. You could replace the components on the tweeter side, replace the entire crossover, or go active with a digital signal processor (dsp) running before your amplifier. The dsp would provide crossover, equalizer, and time alignment duties before the amplifier