DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning!
New user here. I've got an 08 Chev Trailblazer and the radio only puts out mid range audio, it appears.
I've had the suv for about 5 months now and the stereo started acting up after about a week. Speakers randomly work, random full volume (hasn't done that in about 2 months), very tinny sounding as I have to crank up the volume, mid range and treble fully in order to barely make out the song or what they're saying on the radio.
Unless you call hacking away at car stereos in 70's vehicles "experienced", I'm very much a beginner here.
All I really want is to hear proper sound. I like the "toy" approach of replacing my stock unit with a touchscreen unit but I've got all kinds of questions.
As I'm very much a beginner, I don't "talk the talk" yet.
As it is a stock unit, it's a stock setup.
-2 din
-CD player
-don't even know how many speakers it has, at a quick guess, I'd say 8 (2 dash, 1 in each door and 2 in the tailgate)
-the cavity will accommodate a 7" screen
Here, finally, are my questions. All from endlessly looking at primarily Amazon.
  • The basic units run about 90 to 150 dollars; I only want basic quality with the bells and whistles. Am I wasting my money?
  • I've got an android phone but the majority of the units at this price say they only work with certain android versions. If I've got a newer android version, will the wireless connection still work?
  • I'm going basic and cheap. The truck won't last forever so I'm not spending money where I don't need to. Do I need to purchase an additional wiring harness or can I just splice things together?
  • I've forgotten the trademarked term for connectivity to the door chimes, etc but I don't hear the chimes now so I won't miss them if they're still not there:) Will it do any harm if the ad says "not compatible with (whatever chev's trademark connectivity name is)?