DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello DIYMA

Welll I'm between headunits right now and I'm thinking about getting one of these two units, but I don't know anything about Kenwood. I have heard that they make great navi units but what about there single din stuff. I know that the kenwood has more features for the same price as the alpine but I'm willing to pay extra for the Bluetooth unit from alpine. So my question really is HOW GOOD is Kenwood as brand.

Thank you

Daniel

·
Registered
30 Posts
x2! Looking at the Alpine 9887 w/ add-ons, then saw this Kenwood KDC-X993.

anyone have experience w/ this HU or any issues with Kenwood HU's?

·
Registered
128 Posts
I personally hate all of Kenwood's single DIN units. I will admit, their double DIN are quite nice. Also keep in mind I have no experience with their Excelon line. I love Alpine products, they are solid and perform. As you pointed out you usually end up paying a bit more for features, but it is worth it IMO.

·
Registered
108 Posts
KDC-X993 is a great UNIT. Even Alpine is good. Kenwood HU is more towards Vocals / Midrange / Highs, where as Alpine HU has some exaggerated Upper Midrange which some people might not like.

I would go with Kenwood. Using Alpine as of now but i feel i missed out on kenwood when i bought 9887.

·
Registered
108 Posts
KDC-X993 is a great UNIT. Even Alpine is good. Kenwood HU is more towards Vocals / Midrange / Highs, where as Alpine HU has some exaggerated Upper Midrange which some people might not like.

I would go with Kenwood. Using Alpine as of now but i feel i missed out on kenwood when i bought 9887.

·
Registered
58 Posts
ive never heard the kenwood unit in question, but i've never heard a kenwood i've liked so far. sound is thin compared to both my eclipse and alpine decks.

·
Registered
119 Posts