DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
4,981 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Time sure flies, it seems not too long ago I was talking about the last install of 2011...well, it is that time of year again...this was a nice and interesting way to wrap up the year, with a car i have never worked on before incorporating an idea i haven't utilized previously. :) And wit the world coming to an end soon, perhaps this will be the last one evar? hahaha :D

Car is a 2010 Prius.

Goals:

1. Achieve a nice level of SQ via OEM locations

2. Retain a totally stock appearance throughout

3. maximize utility while still being able to show the system off a lil bit

Before i begin, a big thank you to JT (JTAUDIOACC), i pried his brain looking for tips and tricks and was a bit help to my endeavour. :)

lets get started:

The signal starts with a kenwood 6990 double din nav/dvd headunit, installed via the Best Kits dash kit:

As per the customers request, the ipod cable was routed to the lower glovebox:

A quick shot at the wiring harness organization, including the axxess ASWC steering wheel controller:

The owner has previous installed a simple subwoofer system, with a JL audio bass control knob installed into a knockout panel below the push button start, instead of wasting the hole left by the knob and wasting a panel, i chose to install the kenwood's BT mic there instead:

here is the knock out panel with the JL knob and the kenwood mic:

I also installed a kenwood cmos 200 rear view camera, it is located oem style next to the door latch release button, out of the way and provides a good view of the bumper and whats behind the vehicle:

here is the view out of the kenwood:

To locate the camera there required quite a bit of work, first this panel was removed from the tailgate and the camera attached:

then the wire was routed from the tailgate, through the headliner, and down into the driver side hatch area: