DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm putting some LED strips in my car and I'm new to this so I need some help. Here's my set up: I will have 3 different circuits; under my dash and under my seats (4 strips), all 4 doors (4 strips), and my trunk (2 strips). I want the ones under my dash and seats wired into my gauge lights. I want the ones under the doors wired so that they come on when i open the doors. I want the ones in my trunk wired into my trunk light. They are RGB with a remote so i will have to included an IR sensor in each circuit. I also want to include an override switch for each circuit that will allow me to turn them on, off, or allow the electrical system to control them. Each circuit will be fused, what size should i use? What all do i need for this and how exactly do i do it? What kind of override switch do i need? Do i need capacitors? Do I need resistors? Thanks.

I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE with a 2.2L Ecotec and a 12V electrical system if that helps.

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Not to sound condescending, but do you know how to identify the proper circuits that you will need to accomplish this?

What are the specs for current draw with the strips you are using?

·
Banned
2,535 Posts