DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently totalled my Nissan Versa (well about 3 months ago) and moved my system from that into my Subaru Legacy. Going to the junkyard to pull out my system and salvage what wires I could while it snowed was tough. I had moved it from an altima before that... I've made a few posts so far looking for advice and have been doing an awful lot of research here and around the web. Everything in the Subaru sounds pretty good but my speakers don't seem quite as clear, while the mid bass is certainly improved (first time treating doors), and it is my first time mounting the tweeters in the pillars so that does add to the sound stage.

I want to plan out an upgrade path that will take me from where I'm at (lower quality amps pushing convertible passives) into a DSP active 2 way setup. I'm a teacher so my budget isn't great. I have a few times a year I can put together 600$-800 and hope to upgrade in a couple of steps.

What I'm running so far:
Alpine head unit CDE-HD148BT (was one of their best at the time but certainly older now, but 6 x 4v rca outputs with HD radio)
diamond fronts d364.5 (their convertible 6.5" budget components you can make them into coaxials)
running these off a Sony XM-Z1252 (all I had to replace a defective alpine amp, this does 125x2 @ 4ohms)

Bass seems to be strong and clean, I don't really want to add amps to this but sometime might look at replacing the amplifier with something more efficient / quieter:
Kicker 07DCVR122 ported double 12" pre-loaded run off a Kenwood 9103d (900 rms @ 2ohms)

Its important that I don't use more than 110 amps or so of power because I don't want to upgrade the electrical system beyond the big 3 that I've done and possibly adding an AGM battery. Clarity of sound is an important consideration for me. I listen to lots of music types (classic rock, wutang, metal, house music, EDM, etc).