DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As ive gotten older ive went from maximum "boom" to looking for real powerful but beautiful and detailed sound.

Ive been looking at silver flutes, dayton audio etc but i AM new to this in a way so im looking to this forum for suggestions. I know next to nothing about passive crossovers or dsps it seems, but want to learn. Especially want to learn about matching drivers up by spec and have fun doing it.

I want to match up a 3 way setup , best bang for the buck to start since i am new but would like the loudest most powerful and up to date (as you can tell im behind by mentioning silver flutes this is about the time i got out of audio) , most detailed front stage for the money. If i had to put a budget on it i would say $250 or less. Im really trying to put together something for smashing car audio specific component sets because it seems most of the drivers and tweeters sold for car audio apps are just rebranded home audio......plus lets face it, the car audio specific drivers never give the T/S parameters for the drivers they just say their IB and let everyone go around guessing. I wonder why? lol.

EDIT: if the drivers need more sealed or vented air space than is available in the location i am not at all worried about having to say, pull the fenders on the car to build a "cabinet" ...i enjoy taking things to the next level. no problem!

at this point i just bought my project car which is a 2003 lincoln ls and i plan to do something like a tweeter and a 3" ish on the dash staged as needed and a 6-8" midbass woofer in the kicks (dont like door installs but can do it if need be)