DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

So I'm new to car stereos, but not to stereos in general. I've been building hi-fi home stereos for quite a while now. So I'm not totally ignorant with audio, but I am pretty much empty with car stereo knowledge. haha I have a good idea of what I want, and I'm doing all of the research I can on brands and what I can buy, and it's slowly coming together.

So I'm 20, and was a child during the golden years of car audio. Then again, most of my hi-fi gear is from the 70's, so this is nothing new. At any rate, I find myself way more drawn to the old school components and speakers. I feel like a lot of the new stuff is very gimmicky. Even if it may perform better, the old school stuff is just way more appealing. So with that being said, I'm going to try to do an old school build. I was going to post in the old school section, but I have my old school components picked out, and I think I might be working with modern components for the rest of what I need.

As for what I want out of the system. I'm a bit of an audiophile in the house, and while I don't expect that same thing in my car, I don't want it either. I'm a bass head(duh), and I like loud, but clean. Again, I have realistic expectations on the actual sound quality, but I just don't want to have one of those systems that can only create loud music with so much distortion, you can't hear the song. At the same time, I know I cant accommodate an SPL comp system, but I think I can make something loud. So in a nutshell, clean, decently loud, a good bit of bass, and the ability to stay fairly clean at higher volumes.