DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I have 2 JL 12w3v3's (4 ohm single voice coil) in a sealed box running off a JL Slash 500/1. The subs are wired in parallel so the amp sees a 2 ohm load. I made the box to JL specs as far as the enclosure size for each sub. I have the subs crossed over at about 65Hz through my Bitone. I'm hesitant to go ported because I don't want the sound to be "boomy". I'm an amateur at this and I don't have the resources or time to play with different enclosure types and port configurations. The current sound quality is fine for me, but I'd like it to be louder at times. Raising the crossover point is not the solution for me. My other speakers reproduce the higher frequencies to sound levels that I'm happy with. I'm considering going to a larger amp, but I'm concerned about too much power for these subs.

Has anyone used an 800 watts or more mono to a pair of these? Will they hold up at 65Hz with that much power?

Any experience you could share is appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Any input?

·
Registered
1,665 Posts
If you design the ported box correctly, it won't sound boomy. How much louder do you want them to get?

Nice car, by the way ;)

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nice car, by the way ;)
LOL! The G8 just went back yesterday. It was a 3 year lease. The new ride is a grand cherokee. It's another lease so I have to be gentle with the modifications.

I'd like it to be 50% to 100% louder, but only at certain times. The bitone allows subwoofer volume control so I can use that to lower the sub's output if it gets to be too over-powering.

I don't want to blow a sub. The JL literature shows that the subs could handle 400W - 500W rms, but the literature doesn't say at what frequency.

·
Registered
1,665 Posts