1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,119 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Silverado CC
222 Posts
What frequency range are you wanting to be louder? Adding any extra speakers can be detriment if they're not properly implemented, conversely it could be a great add if done correctly.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What frequency range are you wanting to be louder? Adding any extra speakers can be detriment if they're not properly implemented, conversely it could be a great add if done correctly.
Vocals and instruments

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm still a noob but I listen to alot of hip-hop and I already have the bass, i want to hear louder vocals and instruments.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Sounds like you just have an unbalanced system. You could turn down the bass relative to your other speakers and then turn up the overall volume.

·
Registered
33 Posts
More speakers will technically give you more volume (assuming you also amplify them separately) but you'll also want to at least cross them over with your existing components or you'll have different drivers fighting to reproduce the same frequencies.

Adjusting the knobs is free.

If not adding an electronic crossover or DSP to run more speakers, I would bridge the channels of your amp and run them to your front speakers, then use stock/headunit power for the rears. There will be more volume than you know what to do with up front.

I upgraded my rear speakers but found it to be a waste as I don't sit back there, and the fade control is so far forward in my car. This is pretty common. Some people remove their rear full range speakers altogether.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
More speakers will technically give you more volume (assuming you also amplify them separately) but you'll also want to at least cross them over with your existing components or you'll have different drivers fighting to reproduce the same frequencies.

Adjusting the knobs is free.