DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I'm working on a project to test the vibration absorption characteristics of some materials for an abstract architectural project, but also realized I may be able to gain some insight and numbers on the sound deadeners we use here as well. Im an interior architecture student and we are going to be testing the stability of some wall sconces and other products when extreme vibration is applied by sound such as at large clubs and I have been nominated to construct the device to test it with. I would have posted this under the "off topic" section except im going to test the sound deadener's ability to reduce vibration as well, but that's not really the main topic (yet).

Ok so here is my idea, do you see any fatal flaws?

-- Make totally sealed enclosure and use a rubber membrane in which a pole is attached to, then attach a metal plate to this pole on which the products will be attached onto. --

·
Registered
28 Posts
A more accurate simulation might be accomplished by replacing the piston arrangement (although it is clever) with a simple drywall panel across what is the top of the enclosure in your illustration. But during tests I would orient the cabinet so the drywall is on the side. Then you could mount sconces and other fixtures to it just like in the real world. And if you destroy the piece of drywall it's simple enough to attach a new one. I would also make it a point to keep the open span the same width as between wall studs - 16"-24" depending on building construction.

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Awesome, thanks for the info so far guys! What do you mean by, "the sides of the rectangle binding inside the box" ?

·
Registered
185 Posts