DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 151 Posts

·
Registered
546 Posts
Its slightly less dense as some specialty products (3/4lb compared to about a pound per square foot). But, for the price it does seem to be a decent option.

·
Registered
919 Posts
The key here is that it's at a place where most people can get their hands on it easily.

Don (Rudeboy), care to chime in? Is this even worth thinking about or are we better off looking elsewhere?

·
Registered
546 Posts
Im not an expert like Rudeboy, but I believe the object of the MLV is to create a sound 'barrier.' You want to block all the road noise ect out with this. So, the denser the better. This stuff aint the best, but it sure as hell is leaps and bounds better than that pond liner many have tried. I may have to give this stuff a try for myself...

·
Registered
919 Posts
Yeah, actually, my question is does it financially make sense. IE, the Cost per lb/sf. Does this stuff compare to the other materials available in terms of cost.

One square foot of this stuff is $0.75 for .75lb/sf
One square foot of lead sheet is $7.00 for 2.5lb/sf
What does one square foot of the other options cost and how much does it weigh per sf?

·
Registered
919 Posts
Thanks, just to put it all together:

One Square foot of SS LLP is $3.66 for 1.2lb/sf
So, you could put two layers of this, have 1.5lb/sf and still be under half the cost of the LLP. OR, for just under the cost of the LLP you could have 4 layers of this and 3lbs/sf. The only downside is probably the thickness you'll add.

What other options are people using for MLV

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
Yeah, actually, my question is does it financially make sense. IE, the Cost per lb/sf. Does this stuff compare to the other materials available in terms of cost.

What does one square foot of the other options cost and how much does it weigh per sf?