DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am looking for a good Mid+Tweet Combo under 500. Yes I know, go ahead and tell me to search the forums because this has been covered 6 million times. However all circumstances are different, please read my thread and understand my specefic application to why I am asking a question that has been covered so many times.

Vehicle: 05" Subaru LGT

Head Unit/Processor: Alpine PXE H660 or R.F. 3Sixty.
I have used the Alpine CDA-9884+Imprint in the passed and loved it. However they do not make a dash kit for my LGT! I do not wish to fiberglass one, and well I wouldn't mind keeping it "Stock" looking, afterall I am a college student and thieves are everywhere around campus!

Front Stage: In the passed I have used a set of Older Boston Pro's and a set of DLS Ultimates. Swapped out Pro's because the harshness of the tweets. DLS had soft domes, more "natural sound," but were more "flat" and had less mid bass and took a LOT more wattage to make them sound good. I would like to drop my DLS and head active with Raw Drivers. Since this is my first time, I would like to keep it simple with a 2-way design.

Mids: budget is 200-250 ballpark for a SET of mids. Mids will be placed in kick panels. I plan on fiberglassing and deadening them myself. Depth isn't too big of an issue but diameter is. Looking for driver between 5.25" to 6.5." Preferrably a 6.5" possibly a 7" if I can find a tweeter to cross low enough. Mids will be positioned "on axis." There is basically 0 room, other than for the driver in each kick. Maybe I should go with 5" mids so I'd have volume inside kicks???