· Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got a sound system installed in my 2019 golf r. My setup is

Nav tech TV module
Helix dsp ultra
Mosconi pro 5/30 5 channel amp

Speakers:
2 way setup (eventually 3 way when I can afford it.)
Focal utopia-m tbm tweeter
Focal utopia m 6mw mids
Jl audio w7 10 inch in sealed enclosure , will be replacing with a 12 inch audiofrog gb12.

Anyways I would like to feed it the best source possible so I was thinking about buying a DAP. However I don't know how I would plug it in and which DAP would be best ? is there any thing else I would need to buy? What kind of cable I need? I have a subscription to the tidal streaming service for there mqa lossless music. Currently using my android Samsung phones plugged to the cars USB for Android auto, using the tidal app .

I really appreciate your help
View attachment 322606

· Registered
4,486 Posts
Being 100% upfront switching to a three way and getting it tuned and fully active will give you way more benefit vs a dedicated dap

If you want to benefit from better signal use the output of your phone to a topping d10s or douk audio usb digital converter (the d10s is a dac also, but it is a competent digital converter as it’s party trick) android is a little limited in the sense it can’t do bit perfect from any app due to the android audio layer… apple is better technically in the audio department

Although the tidal app can in theory use an external dac in exclusive mode now, although I’ve never managed to get it work on my older tablet, but mqa without a dedicated dac to unfold it is not really any better than hifi… what mqa actually provides is also in question, but that’s not a debate for here

Something like a fiio M9 or 11 via coax makes a good solution as a dedicated dap, but I’d still take three way active before worrying about my source I think 👍🏼

· Registered
2 Posts