DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im goin to be picking up the seas excel W22EX-001 (E022) 8" magnesium cone woofer, W12CY-001 (E0021) 4.5" magnesium cone woofer, and some ribbon tweeters or other tweeters for a home setup of mine. Question is what volume should i use for these drivers and what xover points ect? I have no experience with these drivers and wanna try these out just wanna make sure its all setup right. Also will these drivers handle some power (300-400rms per side) ? i will be building the passive xovers myself just need the points where these drivers will work best. Any help is greatly appreciated!

·
DIYMA Founder
4,757 Posts
Crossovers are VERY install sensitive. Unfortunately you would have to experiment.

A peak, dip, or higher distortion in an anechoic measurement may not show up in the car. On the otherhand, you may have other issues such as low end resonance or cancellation at certain frequencies.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
These will be used in the home. I was thinking about 500hz down on the 8's, 4.5's from 500-3500hz, and the tweeters 3500hz up. Pervo im going to build passives for the set. I have some sweet amps to use for these (dj amps) that are super clean and put out a ton of power. I guess ill build the passives to those specs and just see what they sound like.

·
Registered
271 Posts
djdilliodon said:
These will be used in the home. I was thinking about 500hz down on the 8's, 4.5's from 500-3500hz, and the tweeters 3500hz up. Pervo im going to build passives for the set. I have some sweet amps to use for these (dj amps) that are super clean and put out a ton of power. I guess ill build the passives to those specs and just see what they sound like.
are they crown?
as for finding exac t/s that is doable but id suggest reading "THE LOUDSPEAKER DESIGN COOKBOOK" they have it on parts express
also covers passives too